During lunch on January 29th, we sailed through the Neumeyer Channel,
located between Weinke Island and Anvers Island, to Port Lockroy.
In Port Lockroy, we landed on tiny Goudier Island where there is
a British Antarctic Survey hut that operated from 1943 to 1962.
After being abandoned, it fell into disrepair, but was restored
in the late 1990's into a visitor center, historical museum and
Outside the hut, gentoo penguins nested on the rocks.
rooms in the museum have been restored to look like they were when
the base closed in 1962. The kitchen contains old foodstuffs from
the early 1960's. The
radio room has an operational 1944 B-28 radio receiver which can
still receive and tune-in the BBC. The lounge and bar contains an
old gramophone which the staff used to entertain us by playing an
old 78 record.
enjoying the museum, we had to do a little shopping for souvenirs.
The proceeds from sales go to maintain the museum. In addition,
there is a post office where we were able to mail post cards. (Ironically,
after being postmarked in Port Lockroy, the cards went back on the
ship for drop off in the Falkland Islands! No wonder it takes over
a month to receive them.)
For more photos of Port Lockroy, go to Port
Lockroy Photo Gallery. To read about the next location visited,
go to Jougla Point.
Locations Visited Photos